Alumnus of the Year

Wendy MacClinchy ’92 Alumnus of the Year 2017
The Alumnus of the Year Award…
is presented to one graduate per year who meets each of the following criteria:

  • demonstrated humanitarianism and exemplary service to others
  • demonstrated high standards of integrity through his or her personal life
  • reached outstanding levels of achievement in his or her career field

The Alumnus of the Year Award committee also takes into consideration any contributions the alumnus or alumna has made to MHS through involvement in student programming or by assisting MHS Admissions staff with student recruitment efforts. While nominations are accepted at anytime, they must be received by October 1 to be considered for the following year. The Alumnus of the Year Award is presented each year during Commencement.

2018 MHS Alumna of the Year Brochure

Milton Hershey School Names 2018 Alumna of the Year

Wendy MacClinchy ’92 recognized for her global humanitarianism and diplomacy.

Milton Hershey School has named Wendy MacClinchy ’92 the 2018 Alumna of the Year in recognition of her work within the global peace and security, diplomacy, humanitarian, and sustainable development fields.

“It was the hope of our founders, Milton and Catherine Hershey, that our students would go out into the world and make it a better place. Ms. MacClinchy has used her fierce passion and commitment as an advocate for others to make a profound impact on the advancement of human rights and global humanitarianism,” said MHS President Pete Gurt ’85. “Her work is a testament to the Hersheys’ proud legacy and an example for other alumni and students of the difference we can make in the world. Our MHS community is proud of Wendy’s achievements and we can only imagine the future impact she will have on others as she continues her journey as a humanitarian and leader.”

MacClinchy enrolled at MHS in 1989 when she was 15 years old. Her dedication to improving the lives of others became evident during her time as a student. She utilized the strong mentors at MHS to help nurture her public speaking, writing, and leadership skills. She also participated in the Visual and Performing Arts program and swim team. Her penchant for making a difference led her to contribute countless hours volunteering in the local community, working on student publications, and leading the student government.

She went on to make a career out of a very powerful intention—to be an agent for good in the world. After graduating from MHS in 1992, MacClinchy attended Rutgers University and majored in environmental policy. She began her career working with those struggling with poverty and food insecurity in the United States.

Following a nine-month backpacking trip around the world, MacClinchy joined the U.S. Peace Corps in the mountains of Morocco. Her work took her to Afghanistan, where she managed humanitarian and reconstruction programs. For more than a decade, she operated an emergency employment program for the United Nations in Afghanistan to create jobs for those affected by three decades of war. The U.N. then moved MacClinchy to Liberia for a peacekeeping mission. She served as a U.N. representative and helped Liberians rebuild their country. Following her work in Liberia, MacClinchy moved to Iraq and served as the senior U.N. advisor to the Iraqi government. This was followed by policy work at the U.N. in New York City and a U.N. peacekeeping mission in Beirut with her husband. In Beirut, she negotiated a crisis response strategy and led the coordination of 25 U.N. agencies during the Syrian refugee crisis.

In addition to her work in the field, MacClinchy continues to share her expertise and field research with others through high-profile publications. In 2016, she published a flagship report for the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) called “States of Fragility: A Violent World” and moderated a high-level panel discussion on the report at the U.N. Her research also has resulted in several comprehensive strategies for the U.N. and institutional reforms for the U.S. government.

In addition to her undergraduate degree, she graduated, with distinction, from the London School of Economics with a Master of Science in management, organization, and governance. She also received a fellowship for the advanced study of non-violent conflict resolution at Tufts University Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.

MacClinchy currently resides in Japan with her husband and two daughters. She and her husband work together on U.N.-wide research and policy with the United Nations University’s Centre for Policy Research in Tokyo.

Milton Hershey School will honor MacClinchy during a special recognition dinner on Saturday, June 9. She will address students and staff during the 2018 Commencement ceremony on Sunday, June 10.


Previous Alumnus of the Year Winners

First Last Year Grad Year Received Award
Eric Welsh 1984 2017 Military Service
Johnny Mills 1976 2016 Entertainment
Anthony Graves 1987 2015 Pediatric Cancer Researcher
Jason Wolfe 1987 2014 Inventor and Entrepreneur
Drew Wolf 1985 2013 Entrepreneur/Philanthropist
Kimberly Elenberg 1988 2012 U.S. Public Health Services
Paul Taylor 1953 2011 Aerospace Industry
Richard Purcell 1961 2010 Manufacturing/Entrepreneur
Milton Purcell 1964 2010 Manufacturing/Entrepreneur
Mary Trinh Pentel 1986 2009 Medicine/Dermatology
Gerald P.H. Ballough 1976 2008 Biology/Research Scientist
Thomas G. McClay 1967 2007 Engineering
E. Michael Kenna 1970 2006 Graphics Arts/Entrepreneur
Alan D. Krashesky 1978 2005 Broadcasting
Richard C. Zilmer 1970 2004 Military Service-Marine Corps
J. Barry Love 1951 2003 Teacher and Philosopher
Robert Brill 1960 2002 Agri-Business Entrepreneur
James Finnegan 1948 2000 Editorial Writer
Wayne Hepler 1943 1999 Engineering/Aerospace
Ivan Dietrich 1942 1998 Law
Merrill Lynn 1948 1997 Research Scientist
A. Baker 1957 1996 Scientist-Biochemistry
A. Gabig 1953 1995 Corporate Law
David Bowser 1957 1994 Building Construction
David Voigt 1944 1993 Author-Educator
Otto Weber 1941 1992 Medicine-Humanitarian
Graham McIntire 1949 1991 U.S. Army-Education
John O’Brien 1961 1990 Psychology
Adrian Taylor 1947 1989 Advertising, Design & Journalism
James Hoeschele 1955 1988 Biomedical Research
J. McKinney 1955 1987 Business Management
James Mancuso 1945 1986 Education-Psychology
William Fisher 1950 1985 Education
William Duff 1952 1984 Architecture Building Const.
John Rineman 1945 1983 Medical Services Administration
First Last Year Grad Year Received Award
Charles Gebelein 1947 1982 Chemistry
Michael Kay 1954 1981 Thoroughbred Racing
E. Wallis Callahan 1944 1980 Culinary Arts
David Bowman 1946 1979 Law
K. Thomas Davies 1953 1978 Theoretical Physics
Richard Davies 1954 1978 Theoretical Physics
William Pugh 1943 1977 Government-Diplomatic Service
James Dower 1935 1976 Architecture
Archie Good 1938 1975 Veterinary-Medicine
John Aichele 1939 1974 Business Affairs-Education
Lewis Eckert 1939 1973 Research & Development
Clark Hobby 1947 1972 Religion
E. Jones 1950 1971 Public Relations
Albert Rickmers 1940 1970 Education
Harry Snow 1943 1969 Entertainment
Edward Rutty 1947 1968 Military Service-Marine Corps
William Geen 1947 1967 Law
Charles Bofinger 1943 1966 Advertising
Frank Brady 1937 1965 Medicine-Anesthesiology
William Dearden 1940 1964 Marketing
John Hart 1936 1963 Personal Management
Kenneth Hatt 1941 1962 Business
Laurence Fredrick 1945 1961 Astronomy
William Wagner 1927 1960 Industrial Service Engineering
Burdsall Miller 1938 1959 Military Service-Air Force
Richard Light 1941 1958 Electrical Engineering
Joseph Gumpher 1935 1957 Finance
Joseph Hartshorn 1939 1956 Geology
Edward Uhrich 1933 1955 Medicine-Pathology
Arthur Whiteman 1927 1954 Finance